You are here:   

Mortgage Banking

Mortgage Banking primarily regulates and supervises loan originators, mortgage bankers and mortgage brokers. The Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System & Registry (NMLS), a mortgage licensing system operated by state financial regulators, including Wisconsin was launched in 2010. Wisconsin has transitioned to using NMLS for all of it's mortgage licensing.

none New SAFE MLO Test with Uniform State Component to Start April 1

The Conference of State Bank Supervisors (CSBS) has announced that a new National SAFE MLO Test with a uniform state component will be available on April 1, 2013. With the implementation of this new test, Wisconsin will no longer require a second, state-specific test component to be taken by mortgage loan originators (MLOs) seeking licensure.

Please also visit the NMLS website at and read through the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ’s)

NMLS Links

Access the NMLS Resource Center

For all licensing and continuing education for Loan Originators, Mortgage Bankers and Mortgage Brokers.
go to NMLS Consumer Access

NMLS Consumer Access is a fully searchable website that allows the public to view information concerning state-licensed mortgage companies, branch offices, and individuals currently licensed through NMLS.
Veteran Fee Waiver Information

Mortgage Loan Originator Fee Waiver for Wisconsin Veterans

Mandatory Reporting Requirements for Mortgage Bankers and Brokers

Adobe PDF Document Wisconsin Mortgage Banker and Mortgage Broker Licensees Mandatory Reporting Requirements (PDF: 28 KB / 1 page)

More NMLS Links

Additional Information