Press Releases

For Immediate Release
October 01, 2007 Contact: Charles Evenson

Governor Doyle’s Council on Financial Literacy Announces Over $90,000 to Support Pioneering Classroom Projects Created by Wisconsin Educators

Will Help Implement Wisconsin’s Model Academic Standards for Personal Financial Literacy

(Madison) Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions Secretary Lorrie Keating Heinemann, on behalf of Governor Doyle’s Council on Financial Literacy, today announced awards totaling $91,614 that will fund 23 financial literacy projects in schools statewide. The Financial Literacy Innovation (FLI) awards, worth up to $5,000 each, are aimed at helping the teachers bring new and creative programs and events of their own making into their classrooms to increase the financial knowledge of their students. The projects are expected to reach over 5,500 students this academic year alone.

“These funds offer educators a rare chance to try original ideas and novel approaches to help their students gain sound financial knowledge they can use throughout their lives,” said Secretary Heinemann. “Research shows that students desperately need this type of education. These projects will also strengthen each school’s commitment to financial literacy now and in the future.”

Over 50 original ideas were submitted in June by educators from around the state to Governor Doyle’s Council on Financial Literacy. The Council reviewed the submissions and selected the 23 projects to be funded. The Council along with DFI created the fund that will provide the awards. Secretary Heinemann serves as Chair of the Council and CBM Credit Education Foundation President William Wilcox is the Vice-Chair. First Lady Jessica Doyle is Honorary Chair.

The projects selected are implementing the state’s Model Academic Standards for Personal Financial Literacy that was unveiled last year by a task force appointed by State Superintendent Elizabeth Burmaster. The Model Academic Standards’ goal is to bring more financial literacy information into schools. The task force was administered by the Department of Public Instruction and funded by the CBM Credit Education Foundation, Inc.

The complete list of FLI award winners includes:

Daniel DeFosse Adams-Friendship School District $5,000
Karen Sjoberg Wauzeka School District $5,000
Sally Litka Dodgeland School District $1,860
Lisa Anzalone Elkhorn School District $5,000
Amy Oakley Fort Atkinson School District $3,405
Amy Oakley Fort Atkinson School District $3,320
Laura Lester Franklin School District $1,650
Mary Witteborg Gibraltar Area School District $1,717
Maria Bislew Horicon School District $5,000
Margaret Benson Iowa-Grant School District $4,050
Susan Strutz Baraboo School District $4,968
Dave Picard Kettle Moraine Correctional Institution $5,000
Glenda Crook Lodi School District $4,000
Mark Mueller Marshall School District $5,000
Kimberly Dwyer Mellen School District $5,000
Jim Rumage Milwaukee School of Entrepreneurship $5,000
David Hines New Lisbon Correctional Institution $2,700
Diane Schmidtke Pulaski School District $4,500
Helen Exner Renaissance School of the Arts $3,448
Beth Paar Verona School District $1,000
Renae Peterson Siren School District $4,996
Susan Pacetti Kenosha School District $5,000
Kathy Lemberger Manitowoc School District $5,000

For more information about the FLI project awards, contact David Mancl, Director of DFI’s Office of Financial Literacy at 608-261-9540 or email him at