Press Releases

For Immediate Release
March 17, 2009 Contact: Charles Evenson

First Lady Doyle, Secretary Heinemann to Present Governor’s Financial Literacy Awards

(Madison)First Lady Jessica Doyle and DFI Secretary Lorrie Keating Heinemann will present 2009 Governor’s Financial Literacy Awards to six individuals and 10 organizations on Wednesday, March 17 at a ceremony at the Executive Residence. Mrs. Doyle is Honorary Chair of Governor Doyle’s Council on Financial Literacy (GDCFL) and Secretary Heinemann is Chair. The awards recognize excellence in promoting financial literacy among Wisconsin citizens. The ceremony that begins at 1:00 p.m. also will include presentations of proclamations to organizations focusing increased awareness on financial literacy during April.

The GDCFL selected the winners in February based on nominations received from its Awards Committee. The committee based its evaluations on four criteria: innovative implementation, demonstrated measurable results, collaboration with partners and scope—either statewide or having the potential to be statewide or focused to need-based groups.

Winners of individual awards include:

  • Sharon Abel, Adult Basic Education Instructor, Lakeshore Technical College, Sheboygan County Detention Center, Sheboygan, WI
  • Suzanne Dennik, Consumer and Housing Education Coordinator, Milwaukee and Racine Counties, Milwaukee and Racine, WI
  • Ann Meronek, Business and Education Educator, D.C. Everest Senior High School, Weston, WI
  • Rita O’Brien, Career and Technical Education Program Leader, Appleton School District, Appleton, WI
  • Susan Schilz, Regulatory Specialist, Wisconsin Department of Trade, Agriculture and Consumer Protection, Madison, WI
  • Michelle Tidemann, Family Living Educator, UW-Extension, Fond du Lac County, Fond du Lac, WI

Winners of organizational awards include:

  • AARP Wisconsin, Madison, WI
  • Appleton Area School District, Appleton, WI
  • Brokaw Credit Union, Weston WI
  • Educators Credit Union, Racine, WI
  • Get Smart Wausau Coalition, Wausau, WI
  • Manitowoc Money Smart Week Committee, Manitowoc, WI
  • STAR Credit Union, Madison, WI
  • UW Credit Union, Madison, WI
  • Wisconsin Bankers Association, Madison, WI
  • Wisconsin Youth Credit Unions, Pewaukee, WI

For more information about the Governor’s Financial Literacy Awards contact David Mancl, Director, Office of Financial Literacy at 608-261-9540 or email him at